Verde Heritage By Glenda Farley, Cottonwood, AZ Local historian Glenda Farley guides us on a journey back in time to discover fascinating moments that make up our Verde heritage and history.
Monday, January 21, 2013
1880: CHERRY CREEK ROAD; William Munds Built New Grade
"GOOD WORK --- We learned from Captain Jackson, of Oak Creek, that road overseer of the district of Upper Verde, Mr. Wm. Munds, is doing excellent work on the grade east of Cherry Creek. He has built a new grade a little to the east of what is known as the 'jump off,' which makes the road practicable for all intents and purposes. If there is any one thing more desirable than another for the prosperity and general welfare of any community, it is certainly in having good roads, such as the prople of Upper Verde and vicinity are liable to have under the judicious management of Mr. Munds. The residents of that section are well satisfied with the appropriation of their tax money for road purposes. The completion of one of the best roads in the county can be effected by the aid of a few hundred dollars from the county, and it should be so ordered by the County Commissioners. It is due to the inhabitants of the Upper Verde, who pay large amounts annually into the treasury, inasmuch as it will save many of them ten miles in travel when coming to the Capital of the Territory." (The Weekly Arizona Miner; Prescott; January 23, 1880; page 3.)
"THE GEM RESTAURANT: The undersigned have leased the building north of Raible's Brewery, on Montezuma Street and have opened a first class RESTAURANT AND DINING ROOMS!" "The tables will be supplied with the best the market affords, and meals will be served at all hours. Prompt and courteous attention extended to guests. Board per Week $8.00. Single Meals $.50." "Prescott, Jan. 17, 1879. Mrs. S. J. Munds, Mrs. M. L. Wilson." (The Weekly Arizona Miner; Prescott; February 7, 1879; page 4.)
William Madison Munds, born in 1835 in Kentucky, had lived near Roseburg, Oregon. There he married Sarah Jane Cox and they became the parents of 4 children: Melvina Munds, who married Dr. Myron Carrier in 1887; James Munds, who married Harriet Loy in 1882; Cornelius Munds; and John Munds, who married Frances Willard in 1890.
The Munds family left Oregon with 110 cattle, 15 horses and 2 covered wagons, arriving in Williamson Valley on November 22, 1875. After a year there, they moved to the east side of the Verde River, south of what would become Bridgeport. Then, the family homes were at Spring Creek and Munds Park. Later, William Munds was in business in Jerome, where he became the first mayor.